System Center Management service paused on management server

I recently had an issue whereby the System Center Management service was periodically pausing on one of my SCOM management servers fro no apparent reason. I couldn’t figure out why this was happening until I discovered informational Event id 1217 in the Operations Manager event log. This revealed that the SCCM client was the culprit.

event 1217

I removed the SCCM client by opening a command prompt as an administrator then navigating to the directory where ccmsetup.exe resides (in my case C:\windows\ccmsetup) and running ccmsetup.exe /uninstall

Once I did this my issues with the System Center Management service pausing stopped.

Hope this helps others also experiencing this issue

This entry was posted in SCOM 2012 SP1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to System Center Management service paused on management server

  1. Tom says:

    I am experiencing the same issue. Did you reinstall the CM client? Removing it is not an option for me as we use it for patching. Are there any alternatives? TIA

  2. scompanion says:

    Not found an alternate solution other than removing the SCCM client 😦
    I now patch the affected mgmt server manually

Leave a Reply

